back to all news

Alberta Player to Join Prestigious University Program

August 04, 2019

The list of Alberta Roller Hockey players who sign with Bethel University continues to grow. Alberta's own home grown talent Lane Hartwell is the latest elite player to be joining the Bethel Wildcats Inline Hockey Program. Lane is from Sherwood Park and grew up playing in SPinline (Sherwood Park Inline) and Edmonton Inline Hockey Association, and is now currently a member of the AB Pro Roller Hockey Leagues, Sherwood Park Archers. He will be joining fellow Canadians Justin Shimizu and James Teed on the Wildcats 2020 Roster. 

Lane Hartwell has had a nice streak going lately with a 2019 Eurpoean Cup win, 2019 AB Pro League Cup win and a 4th place finish at the Worlds with the 2019 Canada Mens Team. Bethel University hasn't won the National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championship since 2012 when the Alberta foursome of Taylor Lachance, Cole Sonstelie, Josh Foote and Ewen MacPherson led them to victory. Perhaps this latest infushion of Canadian talent can get them back on top

Link to Bethel Univeristy Write-up

If you would like more information about National Collegiate Roller Hockey and what opportunities are available for Canadian players please contact Ewen MacPherson at

For all the latest news sign up for the Alberta Roller Hockey Newsletter


Roller Hockey Canada Canada Inline IDS Hockey Statewars`